St. George Water Department - (843) 563-3032. Emergency Number (843) 560-2972
The Klauber Building in the Town of St. George in upper Dorchester County, was built around 1894 as a mercantile store serving a bustling railroad community. The klauber Building, newly restored and renovated, now houses the TriCounty Chamber of Commerce, a Visitors Center and Town Museum. As a stop along the South Carolina Heritage Corridor, the Klauber Building is a wonderful learning experience for local culture and history and a perfect first stop on your journey.
The Klauber Buliding is located on Parler Avenue (Highway 15) and is open from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.
The Dorchester County History and Archives Center, also housing the Heritage Museum, is conveniently located in the old Courthouse building on Ridge Street in St. George. Since the inception, it remains a treasure trove of history, artifacts, documents, and many more items of interest to all who visit.
The DCA&HC was chartered in March 2014 and moved into the Historic Dorchester County Courthouse in May 2015. Digitizing efforts began in June and there are now over 20,000 documents digitized for researchers. Due to the outpouring of support and many donations, there are still tens of thousands to digitize!
The Center and Museum is a place to lose yourself in the history of our community and State. It will be a fascinating stop for any tour and visitor,
To find out more information on this wonderful museum and Archives Center, please click the link below.
Placed on the National Regiser of Historic Places in 1974, the Koger-Muray-Carrol House is considered to be one of the 11 most Endangered Historic Places in South Carolina.
Even though the exact date of construction is not known, experts believe that it could be as early as 1790. According to family legends and histories, the Koger-Murray-Carroll House took seven to twelve years to complete and was constructed of cypress from nearby properties.
The historic house is located on the Wire Road near Grover, South Carolina. The Wire Road was originally an old indian trail and was used as a route for stagecoaches for visitors and resident between Charleston and other settlements.
View the complete history of this historic place by clicking on the link below.
Francis Beidler acquired this part of Four Holes Swamp in the 1890s. After his death in 1924, family members maintained his conservation values by preserving the property until the 1960s. At that time, The Nature Conservancy and the National Audubon Society combined their resources to purchase what is now Francis Beidler Forest.
Enjoy thousand year old trees, an abundance of native wildlife in this untouched black water swamp.
Located just 10 miles south of St. George on US 15, Colleton State Park is a paddler’s paradise. This Lowcountry park sits a short distance from I-95 and connects to Givhans Ferry State Park via 23 miles of blackwater river. Colleton State Park provides easy access to the Edisto River, one of the longest free flowing, blackwater rivers in the country, and serves as the headquarters for the Edisto River canoe and kayak trail.
Other amenities at Colleton include an easy nature trail, a campground, picnic shelters and ballfields.
Click on the link below to find maps, history of the Park, contact information and more.